The Akaka Bill Mutates on the State Level

By , February 7, 2011 1:38 pm

The Akaka Bill Mutates on the State Level

Stop the Akaka Bill: Photo Credit

Stop the Akaka Bill: Photo Credit

Leon Siu writes in the Hawai’i Reporter regarding the Akaka Bill. An excerpt:

“The State House of Representatives Committee on Hawaiian Affairs, chaired by Rep. Faye Hanohano, held a hearing today on HB 1627 — a clone of the Akaka bill, modified for implementation by the State, instead of the Federal government.

Having failed for 10+ years to pass the infamous “federal recognition act” (Akaka bill), its chronic supporters, Akaka, Inouye, the Governor, OHA and DHHL, etc., now want the Fake State of Hawaii to ‘have a go’ at creating the “reorganized Native Hawaiian governing entity”…sort of an ‘Akaka bill lite.’

HB1627 is incredibly ridiculous on several levels, not the least of which is that the legislature of the State of Hawaii has no constitutional authority (either US or State) to spin off such a semi-autonomous governing body from itself. This is a pesky detail that apparently none of its advocates or legislators bothered to ask the attorney general or any other legal counsel. When you’re desperate, you make these kind of mistakes. Even as opposition testimonies pointed out the bill’s numerous inaccuracies, inconsistencies and false statements, the lawmakers remained clueless.”

Once again they are trying to steal the lands of Hawaiians and their legal heirs by reorganizing the lands based on their rules in order to reorganize the titles and royal patents of Hawaiians and their legal heirs.

They were unsuccessful on the federal level. Now they are trying to steal lands of Hawaiians and their legal heirs on the STATE LEVEL.

Who introduced HB 1627 which is another version of the Akaka Bill:

Faye Hanohano – Democrat District 4 Puna, Pahoa, Hawaiian Acres, Kalapana

Chris Lee Democrat District 51 Lanikai, Waimanalo

Jessica Wooley – Democrat District 47 Laie, Hauula, Punaluu, Kahana, Kaaawa, Waikane, Kahaluu, Ahuimanu, Kaneohe

The votes were as follows: 7 Ayes:


Faye Hanohano – Democrat

Chris Jordan – Democrat

John Mizuno – Democrat

Dee Morikawa – Democrat

Jessica Wooley – Democrat

Write to your representative and senator in Hawai’i and tell them to stop STEALING from Hawaiians:


Members of the House of Representatives in Hawai’i:

Members of the Senate in Hawai’i:


Leave a Reply

Panorama Theme by Themocracy